New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Card

  1. New Hampshire Cannabis
  2. New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Card

Apply For New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Card Online

Is Medical Marijuana Legal In New Hampshire?

Yes. Medical Marijuana is legal in Hampshire. However, its use for recreational purposes is not allowed. On July 23, 2013, New Hampshire Gov. Maggie Hassan signed HB 573 into law to legalize medical marijuana. However, there was an initial delay that did not allow dispensaries to commence sales until April 2016. In view of the preliminary passage of the medical marijuana bill, some amendments were made to cover a wide range of qualifying medical conditions, such as terminal ailments and protracted pains. HB 573 prohibits the cultivation of cannabis by patients.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire in 2024

Number_1.svg

Book an Appointment with a New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Doctor: Schedule an appointment with a healthcare provider in New Hampshire wto obtain a medical marijuana certification. Note that initial certifications must be conducted in person, not via telemedicine

Number_2.svg

Gather the Required Documentation and Items: Get a completed patient application form, a written medical cannabis certification, proof of New Hampshire residency, and a check or money order made payable to "Treasurer, State of New Hampshire" for the application fee ready

Number_3.svg

Submit the Application: Mail or hand-deliver the completed application and required documents to NH Department of Health and Human Services, Therapeutic Cannabis Program, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301

Qualifying Conditions for Medical Card in New Hampshire

Patients diagnosed with one of the qualifying medical conditions and issued a written certification by licensed healthcare providers can obtain a New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Registry Identification card. With their New Hampshire medical marijuana cards, qualifying patients can buy and possess up to 2 ounces of medical marijuana. A qualifying patient must be a resident of New Hampshire, 18 years or older, and have the recommendation of a licensed provider. Minors under 18 years may apply through their legal guardians or parents, who must be willing to serve as their caregivers. The qualifying medical conditions approved for medical marijuana therapy in New Hampshire in 2024 include:

  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Autism
  • Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Chemotherapy-induced anorexia
  • Chronic Pain or Pancreatitis
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
  • Severe muscle spasm
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Spectrum disorder
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Lupus
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Persistent muscle spasms
  • Rheumatoid arthritis
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Seizures
  • Debilitating disease
  • Brain injury

Can I Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card In New Hampshire Online?

New Hampshire does not allow medical marijuana card applicants to submit their applications online. Applications must be submitted in person or by mail to the state Department of Health and Human Services. Note that certifications for medical marijuana use cannot be issued via telemedicine. Only recertification examinations for medical marijuana card renewals are allowed to be conducted by telemedicine.

How Do I Register With the New Hampshire Therapeutic Use of Cannabis Program?

You can register with the New Hampshire Therapeutic Use of Cannabis Program by submitting an application to the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services. However, you must have a qualifying condition stipulated under the program to apply successfully. Applications may be submitted by mail or delivered in person.

Do I Need To Be A New Hampshire Resident To Get A Medical Marijuana Card?

You must be a New Hampshire resident to get a state-issued medical marijuana card. Although out-of-state patients can still access medical cannabis under the state’s reciprocity provisions, they are not issued medical marijuana cards under the state’s therapeutic use of cannabis program.

What Is The Cost Of A New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Card?

The cost of a New Hampshire medical card is between $50 to $200. This includes a non-refundable application fee, consultation, and follow-up visit service charge. Payment can be made by check or money order, payable to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire. The renewal fee is $50 annually following the receipt of certification. Proof of residence and other documentation originally provided when obtaining the medical card is not required for renewal.

What Do You Need When Visiting A Medical Marijuana Dispensary In New Hampshire?

No medical dispensary in New Hampshire will admit a person without a valid Identification card and medical marijuana card when visiting. Licensed dispensaries check state databases to confirm identity, registration in the medical marijuana program, and a patient’s prescription.

Who Can Prescribe Medical Marijuana In New Hampshire?

New Hampshire requires patients applying for the state’s medical marijuana card to consult with licensed physicians before submitting their application. A written certification by a medical practitioner, such as a licensed physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant, is needed to ascertain whether a patient suffers from one of the qualifying health conditions listed in HB 573. New Hampshire has a medical marijuana program that allows qualifying patients to have access to medical cannabis and accept applications for state-issued medical marijuana cards.

Can A Minor Get A Medical Marijuana Card In New Hampshire?

Yes. Though not directly. A minor can get a New Hampshire medical marijuana card provided a designated legal guardian at least 21 years old, or a parent gives their consent and is ready to serve as the minor’s caregiver. The parent or legal guardian must be a resident of New Hampshire.

Can You Get A Medical Marijuana Card At 18 In New Hampshire?

Yes. New Hampshire regards applicants aged 18 and above as adults. Therefore, minors can look forward to applying for their medical marijuana cards as adults when they turn 18. At this age, they will no longer be required to provide a second Written Certification from their pediatricians. They also no longer need to obtain the consent of their parents or legal guardians nor have to list these as their caregivers.

How To Renew Your New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Card

The validity period of a New Hampshire medical marijuana card is one year. Patients and caregivers are required to renew the cards before they expire. A new letter of certification from a physician evaluating their (patient) health is required by a patient to renew their MMJ Card. Patients can submit their North Hampshire MMJ card renewal online, in person, or via mail.

Can You Grow Medical Marijuana In New Hampshire?

No. Growing marijuana in New Hampshire for medical or other purposes at home remains illegal. New Hampshire does not permit registered medical marijuana patients or their caregivers to grow marijuana plants at home. House Bill 459 was signed in July 2019 by Gov. Chris Sununu to amend the state’s existing marijuana law. This bill established a commission to understudy the federal guidelines on marijuana cultivation.

Does New Hampshire Allow Medical Marijuana Patients To Designate Caregivers?

New Hampshire allows medical marijuana patients to designate caregivers. An approval form for the program and a criminal background check are to be submitted. The designated caregiver must be at least 21 years of age. They must obtain a Registry Identification Card, which allows them to assist their patient with the medical use of marijuana. A caregiver can also place orders for medical cannabis and visit a medical cannabis dispensary to pick up the medicine on behalf of their patients. In New Hampshire, A caregiver can manage or oversee a maximum of six patients.

New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Reciprocity

Out-of-state patients are allowed to buy therapeutic cannabis from Alternate Treatment Centers in New Hampshire three times per year using medical marijuana cards issued in their home states or Canada. However, if a visiting patient with a medical marijuana card has one or more medical conditions recognized under the New Hampshire Therapeutic Use of Cannabis Program, they may purchase medical marijuana from New Hampshire ATCs at the same frequency as New Hampshire patients.

Are My Medical Marijuana Records Private?

Per HB 573, information in the medical cannabis registry in New Hampshire is confidential and exempt from disclosure under RSA 91-A. No person may have access to information about qualifying patients or designated caregivers in the registry or any information maintained by the DHSS about providers and ATCs except for authorized employees of the DHSS in the course of their official duties and local and state law enforcement officials who have detained or arrested a person who claims to engage in the therapeutic use of cannabis.

Does Insurance Cover Medical Marijuana In New Hampshire?

No, insurance plans do not cover medical marijuana in New Hampshire.

What Is The Medical Card Limit In New Hampshire?

New Hampshire patients with state-issued medical marijuana cards can buy a maximum of 2 ounces of cannabis within any 10-day period.

Can You Go To A Dispensary Without A Medical Card In New Hampshire?

No. You must have a medical marijuana card to purchase cannabis in New Hampshire. The state has yet to legalize recreational cannabis; hence, only authorized medical marijuana patients can purchase cannabis at licensed dispensaries.

In this section:
New Hampshire Medical.png