New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Card Renewal >
A medical marijuana card in New Hampshire is called a cannabis registry ID card. It allows a cardholder registered on the New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Program to purchase and possess medical marijuana legally from licensed Alternative Treatment Centers (ATC) in the state.
New Hampshire established the Therapeutic Cannabis Program in 2013 following the enactment of HB 573, which legalized marijuana for medical purposes in the state. A Therapeutic Cannabis Program registered patient can purchase and possess up to 2 ounces of usable marijuana and any amount of unusable marijuana.
A patient diagnosed with one or more of the specified medical conditions for therapeutic cannabis and certified by a New Hampshire-licensed physician can apply for a Therapeutic Cannabis Program registry card. However, an applicant must be a resident of New Hampshire and have a physician-patient relationship with the certifying medical provider. The law also permits patients living in New Hampshire but certified by physicians from Vermont, Massachusetts, or Maine to apply for registry cards, provided the physicians are their primary healthcare providers or specialists. Moreover, patients must be 18 years or older to apply for New Hampshire MMJ cards. Parents or legal guardians of minor patients must apply on their behalf and serve as their caregivers.
Furthermore, a caregiver designated by a registered patient may also apply for a Therapeutic Cannabis Program registry card in New Hampshire. They must be 21 years or older and must have never been convicted of a felony in New Hampshire or any other state in the U.S. Caregivers must also reside in New Hampshire.
Yes, a minor can obtain a New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Program Registry card provided a parent or legal guardian gives their consent and is willing to serve as the caregiver. A minor’s parent or legal guardian must apply as a caregiver and also apply on behalf of the minor. However, a minor patient must be certified for cannabis therapeutic use by two separate licensed physicians. One of the physicians must be a child or adolescent psychiatrist, a pediatric neurologist, or a developmental pediatrician.
In New Hampshire, a patient must be diagnosed by a healthcare provider and issued a written certification to qualify for a Therapeutic Cannabis Program registry card. The healthcare provider can be a licensed physician (doctor of medicine or osteopathy), an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN), or a physician assistant (PA) with the consent of the supervising physician. However, a physician or an advanced practice registered nurse from Maine, Vermont, or Massachusetts may also issue certification to a patient, provided they are primarily responsible for the patient’s care and treatment. Furthermore, healthcare providers must be registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) to prescribe controlled substances before they can certify patients in New Hampshire.
HB 573 stipulates that a patient must be diagnosed with a combination of a qualifying symptom and a qualifying diagnosis or a stand-alone qualifying medical condition to be eligible for therapeutic cannabis in New Hampshire. Stand-alone medical conditions include:
Physicians may only recommend cannabis for patients with qualifying diagnoses, provided they are combined with associated qualifying symptoms. Therapeutic use of cannabis qualifying diagnosis includes:
Qualifying symptoms include:
The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Resources (DHHS) maintains the Therapeutic Cannabis Program (TCP) Registry. Patients interested in obtaining TCP registry cards may apply in person or via mail. Applicants must obtain written certifications from healthcare providers certifying that they have qualifying medical conditions and will benefit from therapeutic cannabis. The steps involved in applying for TCP registry cards include:
In-person applicants can drop off their application packages at the same address. They must drop them in an orange drop box in front of the DHHS building or the drop box inside the building's lobby.
A caregiver is an adult who has agreed to assist medical marijuana patients in buying and administering medical marijuana. In New Hampshire, a caregiver must be 21 years or older and not have been convicted of a felony. Caregivers in New Hampshire are permitted to assist a maximum of five patients. However, caregivers living more than 50 miles from the nearest Alternative Treatment Center may assist up to nine patients if the patients also live more than 50 miles from Alternative Treatment Centers.
A person can apply as a primary caregiver if designated by a registered patient. A caregiver applying for a New Hampshire MMIC must submit a completed caregiver application form and evidence of New Hampshire residency to the DHHS. However, a caregiver for a minor or a caregiver who is a legal guardian for an adult patient must submit a Minor Patient Application Form or a Guardianship Patient Application Form, respectively. Caregivers no longer need to pay application fees as the Department has removed them.
New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Program registry cards are mailed to successful applicants within 3 weeks of application. All applications for Therapeutic Cannabis Program registry cards are reviewed, and incomplete applications are sent to applicants for rectification within 10 days of the application.
Currently, New Hampshire only accepts applications for Therapeutic Cannabis Program registry cards via mail or hand delivery. Applicants may only download all required forms online but cannot apply online.
It costs $50 to apply for or renew a New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Program registry card. The application fee is non-refundable and applicable only to patients. The fee can be paid via check or money order made payable to the “Treasurer - State of NH.” The New Hampshire DHHS does not accept cash or online payments for medical marijuana card applications.
The documents needed to apply for a New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Program registry card are:
The information displayed on a New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Program registry card include:
No, a patient or caregiver cannot be tracked by a third party through the New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Program Registry. The registry program conforms with the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). The HIPAA prevents the disclosure of identifiable medical information of patients without their consent. Furthermore, the New Hampshire TCP registry records are not publicly available and are classified as confidential. To make inquiries, a patient or caregiver can send an email to the TCP or call (603) 271-9333.