There are a total of 36 qualifying medical conditions for medical marijuana treatment in New Hampshire. These include nine standalone medical conditions, 19 chronic and debilitating diseases, and 11 symptomatic outcomes of diseases and their treatments.
The New Hampshire medical marijuana law recognizes three classes of qualifying conditions. These are standalone medical conditions, qualifying diagnoses, and qualifying symptoms. To be eligible for a New Hampshire medical cannabis card, a patient must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition or have both a qualifying diagnosis and a qualifying symptom.
The following are the qualifying standalone medical conditions in New Hampshire:
New Hampshire’s list of qualifying diagnoses for medical cannabis treatment include:
Qualifying symptoms for medical cannabis access in New Hampshire include:
Yes. New Hampshire expanded its list of qualifying medical conditions for therapeutic cannabis through legislative acts. In 2017, it passed HB 160 which added chronic pain and severe pain unresponsive to conventional treatments as well as PTSD to the list. However, when HB 611 became law on October 7, 2023, it removed the requirement for qualifying severe pain to be unresponsive to conventional treatments (medications and surgical interventions). In 2021, New Hampshire added insomnia and autism spectrum disorder to this list through HB 89.
No. Certifying medical providers can only recommend therapeutic cannabis for qualifying conditions in New Hampshire. Patients and medical providers seeking to include non-qualifying conditions can contact their state legislators to advocate for the addition of these conditions to the list of qualifying conditions. Alternatively, they can appeal to the New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Medical Oversight Board. This Board meets twice a year to consider the addition of new qualifying medical conditions and submit recommendations after hearing from the public.
Yes. Each patient applying for the New Hampshire therapeutic cannabis registry ID must submit a completed and signed written certification from their medical provider. A signed certification is valid for 6 months, after which the provider must resign and re-date it to be valid. New Hampshire will accept a written certification for medical cannabis from any:
In addition to MDs, DOs, APRNs, and PAs licensed to practice in the state, New Hampshire also accepts written certifications from MDs, DOs, and APRNs practicing in Vermont, Massachusetts, and Maine. A certifying medical provider must be the patient’s primary care provider or a specialist currently treating them for the qualifying medical condition for which they are seeking therapeutic cannabis access in New Hampshire.
In addition to getting a written certification confirming that they have a qualifying condition, New Hampshire requires anyone applying for its medical cannabis registry ID on their own to be 18 years or older. Applicants under the age of 18 must obtain the consent of their parent or legal guardian and must submit two written certifications, one of which must be from a pediatrician. New Hampshire also only issues medical marijuana cards to its residents.